I’ve officially been gluten free for over a month. They say it takes 21 days to build a habit, if that’s the case then I’ve hit my stride in the gluten free world! I’ve been learning a ton as I’ve eliminated gluten from my diet, discovering there are an array of foods you wouldn’t think contain gluten that actually do. The basic rule of thumb is to avoid wheat & grains like barley & rye. That means flour & whole wheat items, couscous & things of the sort are not gluten free friendly, they are what I’m calling my “foes”. On the other hand, there are an array of delicious items that are gluten free like quinoa (one of my faves) & rice — these are my “friends”. Below is a quick guide for any of you who may be curious about gluten free items, what to consume & what to avoid. Here we go!
- Fruits & vegetables
- Seeds & nuts
- Corn & corn products (like cornmeal)
- Amaranth (try this grain, it’s delicious)
- Gluten free flours like rice, almond, coconut, potato, chickpea
- Barley (malt, malt flavoring and malt vinegar are usually made from barley)
Avoid these items unless they are labeled gluten free:
- Soy sauce (Tamari sauce is a great alternative)
- Pre-made dressings (read the label, you’ll be surprised)
Just like vegetarianism, the key to living gluten free is to do your research, prepare & enjoy discovering new foods/ingredients to try. I’m really enjoying it thus far, feeling great. Are you gluten free? Or are you thinking about it? Would love to hear recommendations & tips!