When we say we’re vegetarians, we often get asked what we can & cannot eat. We thought it’d be a good idea to outline the difference between modified diets,Â along with greatÂ blogsÂ for eachÂ lifestyle. It can all get really confusing, especially when different variations of each start making their way in conversation. Here’s Peas in a Blog’s easy guide to most veggie loving modified diets.
Vegan. Do not eat animal products of any kind, including meat, eggs, diary & processed foods that contain animal-derived ingredients, like gelatin. Some also don’t have anything that may contain animal products in the finishing process, like sugar, some wine & even honey.Â We love the veganÂ recipes atÂ Happy Little Vegans.
Raw Vegan. Consume unprocessed vegan foods not heated above 118 degrees F, for they believe cooking foods above this temperature results in a huge loss of nutritional value. Choosing Raw is a great resource.
Vegetarian. Do not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish/seafood or meat of any kind. There areÂ three schools of vegetarians: Lacto-Ovo, Lacto, & Ovo. Lacto-Ovo-Vegetarians eat dairy & eggs (The Cooks here at Peas in a Blog are Lacto-Ovo). Lacto-Vegetarians do not eat eggs but do eat dairy. Ovo-Vegetarians do not eat diary but do eat eggs.
Pescatarian. Do not eat meat or animal flesh except for fish/seafood. Our friend Ashley is a pescatarian & an excellent cook; go take a look!
Flexitarian or Semi-Vegetarian. Eat mostly a vegetarian diet but occasionally eat meat. The Flexitarian Blog is a good example of this lifestyle.
MostÂ important thing to note is that all these are lifestyles & not diets: theyÂ involve aÂ permanent series of changes that will stick with you for the rest of your life. We are happy to answer any of your questions about vegetarianism, or point you in the right direction for other lifestyles you may be researching. Hope this helps!